RELEASED: May 27, 2016
ARTIST: ABC - Martin Fry
PRODUCER: Gary Stevenson and Martin Fry
The Lexicon Of Love II

If I were to say to you, can you keep a secret?  A mere 34 years since the release of one of the landmark albums of the 80s, ABC return to the scene of their most resounding triumph with the May 27th release of ‘The Lexicon Of Love II’ on the Virgin EMI label.  Sonically doffing its cap to the original, it features 10 brand new songs from the pen of ABC kingpin Martin Fry abetted by various musical cohorts.  It might take a less innocent, more experienced view on affairs of the heart than its million selling predecessor, but it still concludes that all you need is love.
Foremost among Fry’s collaborators on the new album is Academy Award winning musician and composer Anne Dudley, who arranged the strings on the original Lexicon; she has provided orchestral arrangements that give ‘The Lexicon Of Love II’ its signature sound, and has co written two of the key songs on the album: ‘The Love Inside The Love’ and ‘Brighter Than The Sun’.  Other songwriting partners include Grammy award winner Rob Fusari (Beyonce, Lady Gaga), film composer Charlie Mole and Marcus Vere.  Production is by Gary Stevenson and Martin Fry.

The video for the first single ‘Viva Love’ has been filmed by director Julien Temple in the Theatre Royal, Stratford East, the same venue where they shot the promo for ‘Poison Arrow’ in ’82.  Julien Temple went on to make a feature length movie starring ABC entitled ‘Mantrap’, released in ’83.

Says Martin Fry: “We performed a show at the Albert Hall a couple of years ago to mark the 30th anniversary of The Lexicon of Love. It struck me there and then that it was time to make a sequel.  To explore those themes once again and to look at love through the eyes of a man in later life. Now the years have passed, my perspective on life and love has changed. I wanted to make an album that reflected that.”

The full track listing of ‘The Lexicon Of Love II’ is:

• The Flames Of Desire
• Viva Love
• Ten Below Zero
• Confessions Of A Fool
• Singer Not The Song
• The Ship Of The Seasick Sailor
• Kiss Me Goodbye
• I Believe In Love
• The Love Inside The Love
• Brighter Than The Sun
• Viva Love Reprise

ABC were formed in Sheffield in the early 1980’s when they decided they wanted fuse the world of disco funk with their own unique post punk vision.  ABC’s debut album ‘The Lexicon Of Love’ (‘82) went to No 1 and sold over a million records.

To date ABC have released 8 studio albums: ‘The Lexicon Of Love’ (’82), ‘Beauty Stab’ (’83), ‘How To Be A Zillionaire’ (’85), ‘Alphabet City’ (’87), ‘Up’ (’89), ‘Abracadabra’ (’91), ‘Skyscraping’ (’97) and ‘Traffic’ (’08). The Lexicon Of Love II (2016)

Leave a Reply

© Blueprint Management - All Rights Reserved